Emron

Comments: One comment

I find myself wanting to write my story backward, from the present, to my earliest recollection. There are pivotal moments tossed throughout my years that never made sense at the moment, but looking back I can see how they guided me and brought me to where I am today. And so I believe it is with my decision to have a family of my own. I will only truly understand the importance of this moment in my life when I look back and see how it led me to my future self. It seems my story should be written with that in mind — to explain the present before the beginning

 
 
 

I am a passionate perfectionist. When I find something I love, I put all my energy into doing it right. Some of these passions include, my job, playing soccer, travel, cooking, halloween, snowboarding, watching sports, photography, and dancing.

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

I play soccer 2-3 times per week. I play with co-workers during lunch break on our soccer field at Pixar. During the summer, our Pixar soccer team plays in an Adult Friendly League in the San Francisco East Bay. I also love watching soccer. In 2010 I was able to fulfill a dream and attend the World Cup in South Africa. Brian and I also have season tickets to the San Jose Earthquakes MLS soccer team.

 

 

 

  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I've always dreamed of traveling the world. I've been lucky to have seen many of the places I grew up reading about in National Geographic and Zoobooks magazines. Some of my favorite places I've been to are Madagascar, safari and shark diving in South Africa, Australia, and Turkey.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

My mother always invited me into the kitchen to help make dinner. At home I enjoy making big meals especially for friends and guests. I like being creative and experimenting with new ingredients and flavors.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I absolutely love my job! I make animated films at Pixar Animation Studios. I have been with Pixar since 2007 and specialize in cloth simulation and digital tailoring. What I really do is take designs on paper and recreate them in the computer in 3D. I create the patterns, virtually sew them together, and then make them move, look and feel like real clothes. I have made clothing for Up, Toy Story 3, Brave, and am currently working on our 2015 feature film, "Inside Out".

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I went to college at Brigham Young University. I graduated in 2007 with a BFA in Animation with a minor in Dance and Computer Science. I loved school, but sometimes look back and wonder how I survived. I spent endless hours in the animation computer lab, as well as on the dance floor. I was on the BYU Ballroom Dance Team for 3 years. Together we traveled throughout the world competing and performing. Some of my favorite places we went were Paris, Madrid, Ukraine, Hawaii, Tahiti, New Zealand and Australia. While I was on the team, we won both the National and World Championships. I also had various dance partners outside of the dance team. My final partner, Natalie Wakefield and I were ranked in the US top 10 in Latin Ballroom before I gave it up to go work at Pixar.

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I served a 2 year LDS mission from 2001-2003 in the Czech Republic. These were some of the most difficult, yet rewarding years of my life. I have always considered myself a hard worker, but I had no idea how much work and sacrifice it was really going to be. I easily learned more about myself and about life in those two years than in the 10+ years prior. I lived in Brno, Plzen, Prague and Liberec for 6 months, respectively. I really love the Czech people, visiting friends near Prague, and the Czech language, which I speak fluently.

 

 

 

 
 

My family moved to Colorado Springs just as I was finishing High School in Utah. I only went to High School part time. I mostly just took the classes I had neglected learning on my own in the past. High school was a huge turning point in my life. I knew in High School that I loved computers and art. I wanted to do special effects graphics and started taking Computer Science classes. Even with my persistent refusals, my sister Erin kept trying to get me to take a Ballroom Dance class with her because she needed a partner to take the class. I finally gave in during her last semester of High School. It was through my High School dance team that I forged deep friendships that have helped me grow and become who I am now. Dance was also the reason I went to BYU. I received a dance scholarship my freshman year, and BYU is where I found animation.

 
 
 

I grew up in a devout LDS (mormon) family. Faith was a large part of my life. Much of my life path has been guided by principles I learned as a child, as well as doors that opened up for me as a member of the LDS community. My teenage years and into my 20's were very difficult as I tried to understand the difference between my feelings and beliefs. As I hid my feelings from my family and loved ones, I began closing myself off from them. I am happy to say that I am now living a genuine life, free from guilt and hiding, and have been able to open up my life to them. It is one of the greatest joys I have felt. I have such a loving family who accepts my decisions.

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I look back and believe I had a perfect childhood. My family didn't have much excess, but Draper, UT was a small town, and had lots to offer a young, adventurous boy. We had a small farm consisting of chickens, rabbits, cats, dogs, and my dad's two loves: horses and wolves. I had many responsibilities as a young boy including feeding the animals, working in the garden, and helping with house chores. I learned the value of hard work through this, and through the example of my dad who worked hard to make ends meet for a family of 10. I have six sisters and one younger brother. We are all very close and I couldn't imagine my life without every one of them.

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Christmas was always my family’s favorite holiday. Most of my family memories were around Christmas time. My parents always made it very memorable. We made an annual family trip to the mountains to cut down a Christmas tree. I remember mountains of Christmas presents under the tree, and even some Christmases where our parents asked us to give away all our presents to a less fortunate family. We delivered them all to their house, rang the doorbell and ran. Those were the years I learned the true meaning of Christmas. Every year we made Christmas goodies and went caroling as a family to other families in our town.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 
 
 

Most of my siblings were homeschooled at some point. I was homeschooled from 3rd grade to middle school, and even then I only went to part time public school. I never felt that my being home schooled was “social suicide”, as I had a lot of friends through church and Boy Scouts.

 

I was an avid Boy Scout. I worked hard and received the Eagle Scout award just after my 14th birthday. I went on countless hikes and camps with fellow scouts throughout Utah and Wyoming. I started playing soccer at age 7. I worked very hard and was often found reading books on how to play soccer and practicing in our large back yard. I always loved art and animals. I drew a lot growing up and was pretty good. I mostly drew animals and wanted to be either an artist or a wilderness conservationist when I grew up. I always yearned to see the exotic animals I read about as a kid in their natural habitat and dreamed of traveling the world to see them. I saved all my money as a young boy to buy the most exotic pets I could find. I had fish, tree frogs, tarantulas, turtles, and a ferret. Unfortunately I couldn't afford the pets I really wanted, like a cockatoo, monkey, or a tiger! My best friend as a child was Stephen Wells. We loved roaming the fields around our houses, catching butterflies, building forts, playing in the marshes, and riding bikes. We were friends from age 5 to High School and are still in contact. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

My life began on April 13, 1982. My father Kelly and my mother Diana were living in Hyrum, UT at the time, but went across the border to Franklin County Hospital in Preston, ID, as my uncle Rod was a doctor there. He delivered a healthy, 8lb 14oz blue-eyed boy. My delivery turned my young family of four into five. My older sisters, Shannon and Erin were 4 and 2. As an infant I had a lot of ear infections, but no major illnesses. I had no major illnesses or broken bones as a child, surprisingly, with all the activities I did. I’ve been lucky to be very healthy. Sometimes I think it may be due to all the antibodies I built up as a kid rolling in the mud and playing in the marshes, ditches, horse/cow pastures, and pond near my house. I don't remember much, if any of my first few years. I am told I liked to put together jigsaw puzzles, memorize verses of scripture, do flips and acrobatics, and play with "My Little Ponies" with my sisters. You would think the "My Little Ponies" would be a dead giveaway, or maybe the time when I was only 2 and pulled a t-shirt from a suitcase and while holding it up exclaimed jubilanty, "It matches my diaper!" But it took me until I was 27 to realize and understand my sexuality.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 
 
 

 

 

One comment to Emron

  • Brian  says:

    This looks great Emron!

Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>